Saturday, 4 September 2010

The Alice Award

Christobel Mattingly (left) and President of the Society of Women Writers Qld, Inc, Heather Jacobs.
Patron Estelle Pinney and Alice Award winner Christobel Mattingly.
I attended The Alice Award last night - this is an Australian award for an Australian Writers.  Previous winners have been

Eleanor Dark - 1978
Dame Judith Wright - 1980
Dame Mary Durack - 1982
Kylie Tennant - 1984
Ruth Park - 1986
Nancy Cato - 1988
Nance Donkin - 1990
Elizabeth Jolley - 1992
Mem Fox - 1994
Patsy Adam Smith - 1996
Kathryn Purnell - 1998
Jill Shearer - 2000
Kate Grenville - 2002
Margaret Scott - 2004
Rosemary Dobson - 2006
Brenda Niall - 2008

Last night's award function was organised by the Society of Women Writers Qld Inc, and the nominees were
Christobel Mattingly
Colleen McCullough
Sally Ogders
Hellie Turner
Hazel Edwards
Susanna de Vries

And the winner?

Christobel Mattingly.

President of the SWWQ welcomed the attendees - around 100 people - and writer Estelle Pinney, who is the patron of the SWWQ, announced the winner and presented Christobel with the trophy and certificate.

No comments: